Vision of a Connected Life

In the life of the future everything will be simply connected. The Smart Home alone is not only the center of connectivity of people and things. The Connected Life extends far beyond that. The areas of application: housing, mobility, health, public buildings, and cities increasingly converge in the future Internet of Everything into holistic and cross-sector solutions.

The personal freedom of each individual increases as the technology in the background becomes an invisible part of a free, comfortable, healthy, self-determined and energy-efficient lifestyle.
New products and services breach existing borders, creating unimagined open spaces in diverse areas of the Connected Life. CONNECTED LIVING offers the cross-sector and cross-producer platform for the development of partnerships and intelligent solutions, placing the user at center stage.

As part of the CONNECTED LIVING membership network you have the opportunity, together with diverse companies, organizations and research institutions to dedicate yourself to the challenges of the Connected Life and profit from its full potential. The selected technical scenarios listed below will exemplify the potentials and possibilities in the Connected Life of the future.

  • For energy efficiency that can be felt.

    The building of the future will be climate–neutral. Smart micro grid systems synchronize local energy production and consumption, creating a stable and cost optimized supply system.

  • For leisure time worth living.

    Intelligent device control increases user comfort through individually adapted user interfaces. New possibilities in multi-modal and situational device control simplify our life.

  • For security that can be sensed.

    Smart sensors continuously control the security status in the privacy of one's home.
    Automatically activated emergency scenarios offer rapid assistance in various dangerous situations.

  • For health that can be quantified.

    "Self-Tracking" contributes to comprehensive health promotion and disease prevention. Intelligent sensors capture data of activities and vital signs that, when analyzed, will lead to an improvement in health and well being.

  • For self-determination that can be enjoyed.

    Technical innovations support a self-determined life for people in need of care and assistance. Smart AAL systems (Ambient Assisted Living) adapt to specific situation requirements, allowing for individual services.

Purpose of the Association

The innovation center offers a networking platform, allowing membership enterprises to exchange views, mutually inspire one another and develop user oriented, intuitive technologies and solutions for the Connected Life of the future.

In our CONNECTED LIVING showroom we are making this possible by bringing the future to life through the integration of prototypes as well as already existing solutions of our members that can be verified within a tangible and touchable Smart Home Lab. In our membership network we are developing interoperability standards to achieve cross linkage over various areas of application, offer consistent operating structures and unite numerous individual functions toward a comprehensive user-centered solution.

Within the context of our ongoing connecting events and through our proactive public relations we are creating a world of experience that brings the increased value of the Connected Life closer to every individual, awakening their interest and inspiring their enthusiasm. At the same time we are a voice and interest representative for our member companies with regard to diverse stakeholders in the economy, in politics and society.

Take advantage of our platform to conclude profitable partnerships for your business or your institution and link your enterprise's products and services with those of other providers. As part of the CONNECTED LIVING Network you will become more attractive in the marketplace of the Connected Life.

Membership Advantages

Connectivity in a cross-sector network of members

Active professional exchange and opportunities for cooperation in organized project-groups and innovation workshops

Policy advocacy

Participation in CONNECTING EVENTS, e. g. CONNECTED LIVING ConnFerence

Transfer of know-how and technical infrastructures between partners

Participation in publicly funded research projects

Integration of your own Smart Home solutions in the CONNECTED LIVING showroom

Organization of pre-competitive talks

Joint public relations (trade fair presentations, press releases, newsletters)

Use-Cases

Intelligent "Smart Home Sensors" increase security

01_usecase1-d0f6c17effd4523065674cd98158fde2
  1. Martha cooks with an energy-efficient gas stove and is very concerned about the security of her apartment.
  2. Pipe detectors in the building as well as gas detectors in Martha's apartment permanently monitor the condition of the gas lines and detect possible leaks.
  3. In case of a detected poor performance level, house owners and service providers will be notified automatically (repair request).
  4. In case of a gas leak in the apartment all windows will be automatically opened, electronic devices will be turned off, an emergency call will be placed to the technical emergency service, and a notification will be sent to Martha.

The "Smart Kitchen Assistant" turns cooking into an adventure

02_usecase1-1db8cad2bfaec0c6d0828901f34d2bf6
  1. Jan loves to cook and derives his inspiration from cook shows on his Smart TV. He discovers a dish that he can't wait to try out for himself.
  2. Being connected to his cooking app he can download the recipe directly. The food database audits the nutritional value of the dish and possible health effects.
  3. This information will be compared with his nutrition plan. Because Jan has diabetes the recipe's compatibility is one other aspect that will be checked. The recipe meets his individual demands.
  4. Checks are made to determine if the necessary food items are available in the house. Upcoming expiration dates of food items will also be monitored. Since some of the items that Jan has not selected for his dish must be used today, the app will ask him if he would prefer another recipe that will make use of the food items that would otherwise expire.
  5. Jan decides on the alternative recipe and prepares it with video instructions on his tablet PC.

"Quantified Self" helps to reach health objectives

03_usecase1-81ad8e9b75ea0997bcac7fc06dbccf83
  1. Christian is a "Digital Native" and is concerned about his health. He's used to recording his health data ("Quantified Self") to digitally follow his fitness goals.
  2. Wearable technologies directly attached to his body and smart textiles record Christian's fitness data and his sleep patterns.
  3. Sensors and devices integrated in his home provide data related to nutrition, weight and training status (e.g. the refrigerator, the weight scale and the "Intelligent Mattress").
  4. Christian's health data will initially reside in proprietary databases and will subsequently be pooled into a shared health platform.
  5. Through big data analytics, his health status can be comprehensively controlled and optimized through various suggestions (a personal coach for target control and evaluation). This makes it possible for Christian to reach his health goals.

The Connected Life leads to a more efficient use of energy

04_usecase1-dbee25b2d861eb8d470c65169230b332
  1. After a cloudy day, Sarah's electric car was not charged. The battery in the basement is empty because the photovoltaic system (PV-system) could not produce sufficient energy, and power in the previous days was very expensive.
  2. Before leaving, Sarah connects the dishwasher that should complete the washing up that evening.
  3. The car knows that it still has enough energy to drive to work and return home, and knows today's weather forecast. It will be a sunny day.
  4. The dishwasher waits until the PV-system generates energy. Surplus electricity will be charged into the battery, in order to operate the TV and the stove that evening, as well as charging the electric car.
  5. The battery has been charged. The generating of energy begins. Since the wind turbines in the North Sea produce a lot of energy, the system's operator on Sarah's energy manager signalizes that the PV-system has to be removed from the net. In return Sarah received a cheaper rate.

Vision Vernetztes Leben

Im Leben der Zukunft wird alles einfach vernetzt sein. Wir betreten nicht mehr allein das Smarte Haus als Zentrum der Vernetzung von Menschen und Dingen. Das Vernetzte Leben geht darüber hinaus. Die Anwendungsfelder Wohnen, Mobilität, Gesundheit, Gebäude sowie Städte konvergieren im zukünftigen Internet of Everything verstärkt hin zu ganzheitlichen und branchenübergreifenden Lösungen.

Die persönliche Freiheit jedes Einzelnen wächst, während die Technik im Hintergrund zum unsichtbaren Teil einer freien, komfortablen, gesunden, selbstbestimmten und energieeffizienten Lebensart wird.
Neue Produkte und Services durchbrechen existierende Grenzen und schaffen bisher ungeahnte Freiräume in verschiedensten Bereichen des Vernetzten Lebens. CONNECTED LIVING bietet die branchen- und herstellerübergreifende Plattform zur Entwicklung von Partnerschaften und intelligenten Lösungen,
bei denen der Nutzer im Mittelpunkt steht.

Als Teil des CONNECTED LIVING Mitgliedernetzwerks haben Sie die Chance, sich gemeinsam mit vielfältigen Institutionen, Unternehmen und Verbänden den Herausforderungen des Vernetzten Lebens zu widmen und seine Potenziale optimal zu nutzen. Im Folgenden erhalten Sie Einblick in ausgewählte technische Szenarien,
die das Vernetzte Leben greifbar machen.

  • Für Energieeffizienz, die sich spüren lässt.

    Das Gebäude der Zukunft ist klimaneutral. Smart Micro Grid Systeme stimmen lokal Energieerzeugung und –verbrauch aufeinander ab. Es wird ein stabiles und kostenoptimiertes Versorgungssystem geschaffen.

  • Für Freizeit, die lebenswerter ist.

    Intelligente Gerätesteuerung über individuell angepasste Bedienelemente
    erhöhen den Komfort. Neue Möglichkeiten der multimodalen und situativen Gerätesteuerung machen das Leben einfacher.

  • Für Sicherheit, die sich fühlen lässt.

    Smarte Sensoren kontrollieren kontinuierlich den Sicherheitsstatus der eigenen vier Wände. Automatisch aktivierbare Notfallszenarien bieten schnelle Hilfe in verschiedenen Gefahrensituationen.

  • Für Gesundheit, die sich messen lässt.

    „Self Tracking“ dient einer umfassenden Gesundheitsförderung und Krankheitsprävention. Intelligente Sensoren erfassen Aktivitäts- und Vitaldaten, deren Analyse einer Verbesserung der Gesundheit und des Wohlbefindens dient.

  • Für Selbstbestimmung, die sich genießen lässt.

    Technische Innovationen fördern ein selbstbestimmtes Leben betreuungsbedürftiger Menschen. Smarte AAL-Systeme (Ambient Assisted Living) passen sich situationsspezifischen Bedürfnislagen an und ermöglichen individuelle Services.

Vereinszweck

Das Innovationszentrum bietet eine Networking-Plattform, auf der sich Mitgliedsunternehmen austauschen, gegenseitig inspirieren und gemeinsam nutzerorientierte, intuitive Technologien und Lösungen für das vernetzte Leben der Zukunft entwickeln können.

In unseren Connected Living Showrooms machen wir diese Zukunft bereits jetzt erlebbar, indem wir Prototypen sowie bestehende Lösungen unserer Mitglieder integrieren und deren Testing innerhalb eines anfassbaren und fühlbaren Smart Homes ermöglichen. Um eine Vernetzung über die Anwendungsfelder hinweg zu erreichen, einheitliche Bedienstrukturen anzubieten und die zahlreichen Einzelfunktionen zu einer Gesamtlösung zu vereinen, entwickeln wir in unserem Mitgliedernetzwerk Interoperabilitätsstandards.

Im Rahmen unserer regelmäßigen Connecting Events und durch proaktive Öffentlichkeitsarbeit schaffen wir eine Erlebniswelt, die jedem Menschen die Mehrwerte des vernetzten Lebens näher bringt, sie dafür sensibilisiert und begeistert. Für unsere Mitgliedsunternehmen sind wir dabei Sprachrohr und Interessensvertreter gegenüber unterschiedlichsten Stakeholdern in Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft.

Nutzen Sie unsere Plattform, um gewinnbringende Kooperationen für Ihr Unternehmen bzw. Ihre Einrichtung zu schließen und vernetzen Sie Ihre Produkte und Services mit denen anderer Anbieter. Werden Sie gemeinsam attraktiv für den Markt des Vernetzten Lebens.

Mitgliedschaftsvorteile

Vernetzung in einem branchenübergreifenden Mitgliedernetzwerk

Aktiver fachlicher Austausch & Kooperationen in organisierten Arbeits- & Projektgruppen sowie Innovationsworkshops

Politische Interessensvertretung

Teilnahme an CONNECTING EVENTS, zum Beispiel an der CONNECTED LIVING ConnFerence

Transfer von Knowhow und technischen Infrastrukturen zwischen den Partnern

Teilnahme an öffentlich geförderten Forschungsprojekten

Integration eigener Smart Home Lösungen im CONNECTED LIVING Showroom

Organisation von vorwettbewerblichen Gesprächen

Gemeinsame Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Marketing (Messe-Auftritte, Pressemitteilungen, Newsletter)

Use-Cases

Intelligente „Smart Home-Sensoren“ erhöhen die Sicherheit

01_usecase1-d0f6c17effd4523065674cd98158fde2
  1. Martha kocht mit einem energieeffizienten Gasherd und ist sehr besorgt über die Sicherheit ihrer Wohnung.
  2. Detektoren an Leitungen im Haus sowie Gasdetektoren in Marthas Wohnung überprüfen permanent den Zustand der Gasleitungen sowie einen möglichen Gasaustritt.
  3. Im Falle eines erkannten schlechten Leistungszustands werden automatisch Hauseigentümer und Servicedienstleister benachrichtigt ­(Reparaturanfrage).
  4. Im Falle eines Gasaustritts in der Wohnung werden automatisch alle Fenster geöffnet, elektronische Geräte ausgeschaltet sowie ein Notruf an das technische Hilfswerk und eine Benachrichtigung an Martha gesendet.

Durch den „Smart Kitchen Assitant“ wird Kochen zum Erlebnis

02_usecase1-1db8cad2bfaec0c6d0828901f34d2bf6
  1. Jan kocht gerne und holt sich Inspiration von Kochshows über sein Smart TV. Er entdeckt ein Gericht, welches er unbedingt nachkochen möchte.
  2. Durch Anbindung seiner Koch-App kann er das Rezept direkt herunterladen. Die Lebensmitteldatenbank überprüft die Nährwerte des Gerichts und mögliche gesundheitliche Auswirkungen.
  3. Die Informationen werden mit seinem Ernährungsplan abgeglichen. Da Jan Diabetes hat, wird die Rezeptverträglichkeit auch aus diesem Aspekt überprüft. Das Rezept entspricht seinen individuellen Vorgaben.
  4. Es wird überprüft, ob die benötigten Lebensmittel im Haus vorhanden sind. Es wird auch abgeglichen, welche kurz vor Ablauf des Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatums stehen. Da einige heute verbraucht werden müssen, die Jan für das ausgewählte Gericht nicht benötigt, fragt ihn seine App, ob er auf ein anderes Rezept zugreifen und die ablaufenden Lebensmittel verwenden möchte.
  5. Jan entscheidet sich für die Alternative und kocht diese mit Hilfe von Videoanleitungen über sein Tablet nach.

„Quantified Self“ hilft beim Erreichen von Gesundheitszielen

03_usecase1-81ad8e9b75ea0997bcac7fc06dbccf83
  1. Christian ist ein „Digital Native“ und ist auf seine Gesundheit bedacht. Er ist es gewohnt seine Gesundheitsdaten aufzuzeichnen („Quantified Self“), um seine Fitnessziele digital verfolgen zu können.
  2. Direkt am Körper getragene Wearables und Smart Textiles zeichnen Christians Fitnessdaten und Schlafrythmus auf.
  3. Im Haus integrierte Sensoren und Geräte liefern Daten über Ernährung, Gewicht und Trainingsstatus (bspw. Kühlschrank, Waage, ­intelligente Matratze).
  4. Christians Gesundheitsdaten liegen zunächst in proprietären Datenbanken vor und werden anschließend in einer gemeinsamen Gesundheits­plattform aggregiert.
  5. Durch Big Data Analyse kann der Gesundheitszustand umfassend kontrolliert und mit Verbesserungsvorschlägen optimiert werden (Personal Coach zur Zielsteuerung und -bewertung). So kann Christian seine Gesundheitsziele erreichen.

Das vernetzte Leben führt zu einer effizienteren Energienutzung

04_usecase1-dbee25b2d861eb8d470c65169230b332
  1. Nach einem bewölkten Tag wurde Sarahs E-Auto nicht aufgeladen. Die Batterie im Keller ist leer, da die Photovoltaikanlage (PV-Anlage) wenig Strom produzieren konnte und Strom in den vergangenen Tagen sehr teuer war.
  2. Vor dem Gehen schließt Sarah den Geschirrspüler an, der am Abend fertig sein soll.
  3. Das Auto weiß, dass es noch genug Energie hat, um bis zur Arbeit und wieder nach Hause zu fahren und kennt die heutige Wetterprognose. Es wird ein sonniger Tag.
  4. Der Geschirrspüler wartet, bis die PV-Anlage Strom erzeugt. Überschüssiger Strom wird in die Batterie geladen, um abends den Fernseher und Herd zu betreiben und das E-Auto zu laden.
  5. Die Batterie wurde aufgeladen. Sarah beginnt Strom einzuspeisen. Da die Windräder in der Nordsee sehr viel Strom produzieren, signalisiert der Netzbetreiber an Sarahs Energiemanager, dass die PV-Anlage vom Netz genommen werden muss. Dafür hat Sarah einen günstigen Tarif bekommen.